George’s Mess (And Mine)

Honey Pull Apart + George's MessSad news. My over-sized and annoyingly heavy casserole dish is no more. Sadly so is the lasagna. I misjudged putting it back in the fridge. It shattered all over the floor. I tried to salvage the lasagna, but decided potentially eating glass shards wasn’t worth it. Not really too heartbroken over the loss. So no cooking yesterday. Or today.

Anyways, my adventures today helped me to get over it. I went down to Richmond to go to the Poe Museum and the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts to see the Hollywood Costume exhibit. I saw Robert Downey Jr’s Sherlock Holmes (Game of Shadows, so not as exciting) costume. Harrison Ford’s Raiders costume, CBale’s TDK Batman costume, costumes from Elizabeth, Shakespeare in Love, Marie Antoinette, the green dress from Atonement, Guinevere’s wedding dress from Camelot (that has pumpkin seeds sewn all over it!), lots of others, and most importantly, Robert DeNiro’s overcoat from Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. I laughed out loud when I saw it. I sadly recognized it instantly.

But the best part was the start of my day! I stopped midway in Fredericksburg to go to my favorite bakery, Eileen’s. I got my usual George’s Mess (eggs, bacon, lemon roasted potatoes, sour cream, and chives in a tortilla) and a honey pull apart. Yum! I ordered my Grand Marnier birthday cake too. So excited! Between that and tea splurging at CaryTown Tea, it hasn’t been a good day for my pocket book.

Cooking MovieOlympics Opening Ceremony

Leave a Reply

