Trader Joe’s Chocolate Chip Scones

Chocolate Chip Scones

Trader Joe's Chocolate Chip Scone BoxFear not, dear reader. I have not abandoned you or my quest. I’ve just been living off of spaghetti and meatballs and TJ’s five layer dip (plus a trip home and other things), so there hasn’t been anything meaningful to post. I was at Trader Joe’s yesterday standing in front of their new products shelf, and this box mix called out to me. I figured it would be a good way to ease myself back into things. I wish all baking was as easy as mixing it with water and putting it on a cookie sheet.

 I’m not experienced with making things out of boxes. The only thing I ever made from a box was Ghiradelli double chocolate brownie mix during my box brownie addiction phase. And that had so much chocolate in it that it didn’t matter what it tasted like. The scones were actually pretty good! I put strawberry jelly on them. They don’t taste as complex as a real scone, but they look good and get the job done.

New cookbook! Yay!

New cookbook! Yay!

I also bought some new baking dishes today, so I’m ready to make casseroles, stuffed shells or whatever else I want to make in rectangular dishes. I’m going to try to do better. At least be more consistent. My problem is that I’m very changeable with what I want and when I want it which makes it hard to plan things out. I have a hard time finding recipes that I would actually want to make and eat. I’m still in the market for a good cook book to go through for dinners. Baking comes a lot easier to me, so I decided to get the King Arthur Flour Baker’s Companion. It has a ton of cool recipes in it. And it has a lot of interesting recipes and techniques for more advanced things I’ve never been brave enough to try so I can branch out to more challenging things when I feel up to it. I’m really excited for it. I’m going to at least attempt to plan out recipes in advance to help me along when I get stuck. I’ve been reading Jane Austen and Food and I want to make some recipes from that. Someone should talk me out of trying to make spruce beer though. Plus I have that awesome turkey chili to make before it gets too warm. See you again soon!

Cooking Movie: Brooklyn Nine-Nine

Leave a Reply

