Chocolate R2-D2s and Darth Vaders

White Chocolate R2 + Peanut Butter VadersSo I guess when I said Thursday I meant next Thursday. I did make these last week, but I also made an accordion album and rosettes for a bridal shower that night which left me too tired to write a coherent post. And I’ve been working/tired since. But I finally posted!

2014-04-03 15.30.00We had a bridal shower for a friend from work. When I asked her what I should make for her, she requested chocolate R2-D2s (after me telling her I’d gotten the new mold for my birthday). Time to break in my new mold. It was my first time using white chocolate. There wasn’t too much trial and error. It melted without much trouble.I think mixing the food coloring gel with the white chocolate cooled it so it was too thick to try to paint the intricate detail lines. I figured just getting blue in the general area would suffice. The mold was shallow, so it didn’t take too long for it to cool. I got a little over eager with my first batch, so the big R2 is a little bit sticky. The second and a half batches turned out great. My only complaint is that the mold could be made better. It’s nearly impossible to get Artoo out without breaking one of his feet/wheels. I only managed it on two of them. Next time I’ll try to be a little bit gentler when I pop them out. It’s also hard to drizzle the chocolate in those grooves. Even when you use the mold for ice they break off too. They did remain tacky even after being in the molds, so I had to keep them in the fridge over night which I usually don’t do since the cold can make the chocolate crack. It was also hot in my apartment. I think that was contributing to the slight meltiness.

2014-04-04 00.55.04While the Artoos were cooling in the fridge, I got to work on the peanut butter stuffed chocolate Darth Vaders. I’ve made probably over of thirty of these, but it’d been a year or so since I last made them. Fortunately I remembered how to make them. When I first started making these, it was a lot of trial and error til I got them right. Picking a good chocolate helps. I started using chocolate 2014-04-03 15.20.16chips which aren’t right for melting anyway. The Trader Joe’s Pound Plus Milk Chocolate bar is now my go to. It tastes good, isn’t very expensive, and comes in a huge chunk. It takes a little more than a third of a bar to make six Vaders (and half a giant R2 and two little ones. Not pictured because I ate them.). So I melt the chocolate in the microwave and let it cool for a couple minutes. Then I put chocolate in the heads and used brush to paint the chocolate over the sides to make a shell for the peanut butter. Into the fridge to chill for ten minutes or so. I put the peanut butter in the fridge to get it to harden up too. I’m not sure if it made a difference. I mixed the peanut butter with a smidge of powdered sugar. Then I pipe that in using a ziploc bag with the corner cut off. Put that in the fridge for a few minutes to harden the peanut butter (though I don’t think it really does much). Then fill it in with chocolate. Tap it and jostle it around a bit to bring air bubbles to the surface allowing the chocolate to go into all the crooks and crannies. Scrape off excess chocolate with an offset spatula. Then in the fridge for maybe 15-20 minutes until the top isn’t tacky. Pop them out. You have to be gentle when popping them out because the cowl is the first thing that’ll crack off. Mine weren’t as pretty this time. I was a little rusty. I put them in the fridge too because of the heat.

2014-04-04 18.19.08The bridal shower was great fun. The cake was from The Happy Tart. I don’t know what was in that chocolate icing, but it was amazing. Also good news! I got a charger for my camera battery, so I can take good pictures now! Does this graduate me to a high level blogger? Time will tell. I got a bunch of meyer lemons from Trader Joe’s, so expect lots of lemony things in my future. I’ve never had one before, so I’m excited to taste this nearly mythical fruit.

Cooking Movie: The Lion King Rosette Making Movie: Meet Me in St. Louis (I hadn’t seen it since high school, so I ended up watching it instead of making rosettes. Oops.)OR

Leave a Reply

